Home Page

Funky Hair Friday!

Funky Hair Friday - The Little Princess Trust


On Friday 22nd March, we had a fundraising event in aid of The Little Princess Trust in order to support a Year 6 pupil, Emilija Abromaviciute, who donated over 12 inches of her hair to the charity. The Little Princess Trust provides free real hair wigs to children and young people, up to 24 years, who have lost their own hair through cancer treatment or other conditions. They also fund childhood cancer research searching to find kinder and more effective treatments. The whole school, from Nursery to Year 7, supported the event by raising money through sponsorship for 'Funky Hair Friday'. It was a very special, heartwarming day. We had a local hairdresser (who is the mother of a pupil in school), Mrs Bernadine McCoy, come into our Friday Assembly to cut Emilija's hair in front of the whole school.


The children raised an amazing £3766.84 for this very worthy charity. 


Wendy Tarplee-Morris, the founder of The Little Princess Trust, said: "I have just been told about the incredible support we've received from Emilija and her fellow pupils at Ballyoran Primary School and I am so impressed. Our charity provides wigs to children who have lost their hair due to cancer treatment and we know the wigs really help to boost peoples' confidence at what can be a very difficult time. But we can only make these wigs and pay for the fitting and styling because of amazing people like Emilija and all of the fantastic children and staff at Ballyoran Primary School - thank you all so, so much!"


Again, thank you for your wonderful support and generosity. We would also like to thank some local businesses for donating prizes for the highest collectors in each class. A range of prizes were very kindly donated by Wilson's SuperValu, O'Neills Sports, Craigavon Omniplex Cinema, Toymaster Portadown, C&J Farm, Healthy Kidz and Peter Pans.


The highest collector in each class:

Nursery 1 - Mairead Fearon

Nursery 2 - Hunter McGeown

Year 1 - Elsie Neill

Year 1/2 - Jack McGeown

Year 2/3 - Connie O'Hehir

Junior LSC - Zach Cherry

Year 3 - Junior McGeown

Year 4 - Cerys Eadie

Year 5 - Betsy Carvill

Year 6 - Max Karnarkowski

Year 7 - Jamie McNeice

Senior LSC - Jason Hall